PBM’s Mark Nahorski is New VMA Chairman

PBM’s Mark Nahorski is New VMA Chairman

New VMA 2017/18 Board Chairman Mark Nahorski (left), PBM Inc., accepts the gavel from Outgoing Chairman Jim White, Curtiss-Wright.

At VMA’s 2017 Annual Meeting, Oct. 13-15 at the Ritz-Carlton Amelia Island in Florida, members elected a new slate of officers, while several individuals were recognized for their service to the valve industry and the association.

Mark Nahorski, President of PBM Inc., will serve as 2017-2018 Chairman of the VMA Board, succeeding James White, Senior General Manager of Target Rock Group (a unit of Curtiss-White Valve Group). David Hughes, Director of Global Strategic Accounts for Final Controls (a unit of Emerson Automated Solutions), will serve as Vice Chairman, while Bryan Burns, President and COO of DeZurik, Inc., becomes Program Chairman.

Continuing on the board for their second three-year terms are: Arie Bregman, Vice President and General Manager, DFT Inc., and Jim Walther, President, KITZ Corporation.

Newly elected to the board for their first three-year terms are: John V. Ballun, President and CEO, ValMatic Valve & Mfg. Corporation; Yves LeDuc, President and CEO, Velan Valve; and Matt Thiel, President, AUMA Actuators.

Bob Kemple of ASCO and Jim Gray of GE retired from the Board at the 2017 Annual Meeting and were presented plaques in recognition of their service to the association.

(A complete list of the VMA Board of Directors is available on the association’s website.)


Tony Pecora of AUMA Actuators

VMA’s most prestigious annual award, “Person of the Year,” went to Tony Pecora of AUMA Actuators. He has been an active member of VMA since his company joined the association in 1993 and he has served on numerous committees over the years, most recently on the Nominating Committee and the Program Committee. In presenting the award, outgoing chairman Jim White said Pecora “has been a reliable and dedicated member for many years, always willing to serve where asked.”

Three individuals were given VMA Service Awards this year:

  • Dale Friemoth of Crane has been an active member of the Technical Committee for many years. He has also taken the lead to help solicit presenters for VMA’s Annual Meeting.
  • Mark Novak of Check-All Valve has been instrumental in providing VMA with speakers from various universities across cities that have hosted the Manufacturers Workshop over the past few years, as well as chairing the Manufacturing Committee.
  • Kelly Watson of Watson Grinding & Mfg. has been an integral member of the Communications Committee. Serving as chair this past year, she played a key role in moving the Valve Careers initiative into the forefront and has continuously proven herself a dedicated champion for VMA’s communications efforts.


Bill and Ellen Sandler

In a surprise ceremony VMA President Bill Sandler was presented with a special “Man for the Decades” award to recognize him for four decades of tireless dedication to the Valve Manufacturers Association. Jim White noted that throughout Sandler’s tenure as president over the last 20 years, “he has guided the VMA and its members through the ever-changing industry and has continuously and honorably represented the organization, always working to provide VMA’s members with the highest quality association services possible.” In addition, the VMA staff presented Sandler with recognition of his dedication by presenting him with a plaque showcasing an article from the Winter 2017 issue of VALVE Magazine about his long service to VMA.

The next VMA/VRC Annual Meeting will take place at the Ritz-Carlton Lake Tahoe, Sept. 25-27, 2018, in Truckee, CA.